Travis Dove of Ohio University is College Photographer of the Year

Travis Dove photo courtesy of

The National Press Photographers Association announced last night that Travis Dove of Ohio University won the 62nd annual College Photographer of the Year competition.

The judges awarded Dove the gold in the portfolio category as well as gold in the portrait and documentary categories and awards of excellence in the sports feature and pictorial categories.

First runner-up is Dominic Nahr of Ryerson University while Brian Frank of San Francisco State University is the second Runner-up.

This year’s College Photographer of the Year contest had a total of 10,645 still images and 122 multimedia projects entered by 461 student photographers from 88 colleges and universities in 10 different countries.

The contest is sponsored by the National Press Photographers Foundation, the University of Missouri, National Geographic, the Missouri Photographic Workshop, and The Poynter Institute for Media Studies.


Published by Chris Malinao

Chris teaches Lightroom as workflow software to photography students at the FPPF, Federation of Philippine Photographers Foundation. He also teaches smartphone photography.