Fiber Optic Pioneer, CCD Inventors Win Nobel Prize in Physics

Fiber Optic Pioneer, CCD Inventors Get Nobel Prize in Physics

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2009 jointly to Charles K. Kao, Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith for their contributions to optical scientific research.

Half of the award goes to Charles K. Kao of the Standard Telecommunication Laboratories, Harlow, UK, and Chinese University of Hong Kong “for groundbreaking achievements concerning the transmission of light in fibers for optical communication.”

The other half goes to Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith, Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, USA “for the invention of an imaging semiconductor circuit – the CCD sensor.”


Published by Chris Malinao

Chris teaches Lightroom as workflow software to photography students at the FPPF, Federation of Philippine Photographers Foundation. He also teaches smartphone photography.