Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 2008 Announces Shortlist

Photo by Fazal Sheikh

The Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 2008 today announced the names of four photographers who have made it to the final list for the award: John Davies, Jacob Holdt, Esko Männikkö and Fazal Sheikh.

Organizers said this year’s shortlist demonstrates a focused and sustained commitment to exploring subjects of social and political importance through photography. The annual prize rewards a living photographer, of any nationality, who has made the most significant contribution to the medium of photography in Europe.

Of the four, one will be chosen for the coveted Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 2008. The name of the winner will be announced on March 5, 2008.

The Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 2008 is presented by The Photographers’ Gallery, London and is the opening venue for the exhibition which will be held from February 8 to April 6, 2008.


Published by Chris Malinao

Chris teaches Lightroom as workflow software to photography students at the FPPF, Federation of Philippine Photographers Foundation. He also teaches smartphone photography.