September 9 Launch for New Leica Cameras: S2 DSLR Finally There?

Leica S2 Digital SLR Camera

Leica is drumming up interest on the unveiling next week of a new generation of Leica cameras. September 9, 2009 is the launch date with a live webcast at 9:00 am (EST) in New York; 2pm London, 3pm Berlin, 5pm Moscow, 9pm Beijing and 10pm in Tokyo.

You have to register to watch the live webcast. Leica promises “ground-breaking new products” during the launch. The company started as Ernst Leitz GmbH in the 1900s Germany and later evolved as Leitz Camera in 1986.

Today, Leica occupies a niche market for high-end, high-priced cameras. Its $5000 M8 rangefinder-style digital camera suffered a “magenta-color offset” issue shortly after launch in September 2006 but was eventually addressed with a firmware fix. The much hyped-about Leica S2 autofocus medium format DSLR, which first appeared as a concept camera at Photokina 2007, is expected to figure prominently in the September 9 launch. The S2 is priced at about $23,000.

[Site: Leica USA]

Chris Malinao

About Chris Malinao

Chris teaches Lightroom as workflow software to photography students at the FPPF, Federation of Philippine Photographers Foundation. He also teaches smartphone photography.

vintage GUNDLACH CRITRION 8x10 Black Beauty wood view field/studio camera decor picture
vintage GUNDLACH CRITRION 8x10 Black Beauty wood view field/studio camera decor
Vintage Osram BCS 32 Studio Camera Flash Not Tested Mountable Made In Japan picture
Vintage Osram BCS 32 Studio Camera Flash Not Tested Mountable Made In Japan
5 French Photos Studio Harcourt Paris Photos Kobal- Gamma ect..: Movies & Actors picture
5 French Photos Studio Harcourt Paris Photos Kobal- Gamma ect..: Movies & Actors
Antique Turn Of The Century 8x10 Studio Camera With Semi Continental Iron Stand. picture
Antique Turn Of The Century 8x10 Studio Camera With Semi Continental Iron Stand.
Vintage TeleMation Inc. TMC-2100V Studio Production Television Camera picture
Vintage TeleMation Inc. TMC-2100V Studio Production Television Camera